Ontario Government provides $16.5 million to nine universities for expanded student enrolment

Archived Release

Ontario Government provides $16.5 million to nine universities for expanded student enrolment

Ministry of Colleges and Universities

GUELPH, ON, Feb. 16 /CNW/ - The Ontario Government is providing $16.5 million in additional funding to nine universities that increased access to high-quality postsecondary programs over the past year, Brenda Elliott, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, announced today on behalf of Dianne Cunningham, Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities.
"These universities have demonstrated that student enrolment can be increased. They have done an outstanding job of giving more students access to a postsecondary education," said Elliott. "The Ontario Government will continue to work with universities and colleges on new initiatives to support growth in the postsecondary sector."
The $16.5-million Accessibility Fund was first announced in March 2000. In order to be eligible to share in this fund, universities were required to increase or match their fall 1999 first-year admissions in fall 2000.
"As we move forward in planning for significant enrolment growth expected over the next number of years, having an accessible postsecondary system in Ontario remains a priority for this Government," said Cunningham. "That's why I am very pleased to note that the Government has delivered on its commitment to provide $16.5 million to universities that have demonstrated they are accommodating more students in 2000-01."
This accessibility fund is one component of the Ontario Government's plan to prepare colleges and universities to meet the expected increase in enrolment due to the introduction of the new high school program. It builds on the $1.8 billion SuperBuild commitment, announced in 2000, that will see 73,000 new student spaces created on campuses across Ontario.

The nine Ontario universities sharing in the Accessibility Fund are:

Brock University $1.79 million
University of Guelph $4.56 million
Algoma University College $0.53 million
Hearst University College $0.009 million
McMaster University $0.97 million
University of Ottawa $2.36 million
Queen's University $2.41 million
Wilfrid Laurier University $2.04 million
Ryerson University $1.81 million

Disponible en fran├žais
For further information: Dave Ross, Communications Branch, (416) 325-2709; Kerry Kincaid Delaney, Minister's Office, (416) 326-1625; For more information visit www.edu.gov.on.ca