Ontario Newsroom

Premier's Awards For Teaching Excellence

Archived Backgrounder

Premier's Awards For Teaching Excellence

Ministry of Education

The Premier's Awards for Teaching Excellence celebrate exceptional teachers, principals and education support staff, and their contribution to student success.

Awards will be offered in ten different categories honouring the positive impact teachers and other education staff have on students and showcasing outstanding teaching practices.

Nomination forms will be distributed to all schools in Ontario and will be available at the Premier's Awards for Teaching Excellence website at www.ontario.ca/teachingawards.

Students, parents, teachers and community members are all welcome to make a nomination.

Nominations will be accepted until January 31, 2007, and award recipients will be announced before the end of the school year.

The Awards

Category Who's Eligible? Purpose
Teacher of the Year (2 awards) All elementary and secondary teachers Celebrates teachers who encourage enthusiasm for learning, raise expectations for the achievement of outstanding results, involve and mentor others in supporting student learning, and have an impact beyond the classroom.
Outstanding New Teacher (2 awards) New elementary and new secondary teachers (up to three years teaching experience) Awarded to teachers who engage students in learning; demonstrate energy, passion and contagious enthusiasm in teaching; and show potential for advancing student achievement.
School-to-Work Transition (1 award) All elementary and secondary teachers Awarded to a teacher who redefines student success to include helping students develop the skills they need to prepare for work and expands opportunities for school-to-work transitions.
Excellence in Special Needs (2 awards) All special needs teachers and teaching support staff in elementary and secondary schools One award will be granted to a teacher who adapts teaching methods and the curriculum to meet the needs of individual students. The second will be given to a support staff member who makes an outstanding contribution to helping students with special needs.
Parent and Community Involvement (1 award) All elementary and secondary school staff Honours an individual who has demonstrated leadership and made an outstanding contribution to student learning and achievement by involving either parents or the community and by fostering an awareness of citizenship values in students.
Contribution to School Leadership (1 award) All principals, vice-principals, department heads or teachers This category recognizes a principal, vice-principal, department head or teacher whose exemplary leadership promotes an environment that stimulates learning and teaching, and fosters the commitment and dedication of staff to excellence in teaching.
Enterprise in Teaching (1 award) All elementary and secondary teachers Awarded to a teacher who demonstrates new and creative approaches that inspire other educators and advances teaching methods in support of student learning and achievement.
Excellence in Teaching Support (1 award) All support staff Honours a support staff member who demonstrates a firm belief in students' potential and works collaboratively with teachers to ensure the best possible support for students.
Excellence in Teaching Literacy and Numeracy (2 awards) All elementary and secondary teachers Recipients will be teachers who demonstrate innovative, unique and effective approaches to enhance students' reading, writing and math skills.
Lifetime Achievement (1 award) All teachers with 25 years or more of teaching experience This special category celebrates an individual teacher who, throughout his or her career, has demonstrated exceptional leadership in the school community and acted as a force for positive change within the classroom and school system.

The Selection Panel

The recipients of the award will be chosen by a selection panel chaired by Seamus O'Regan, co-host of CTV's Canada AM. Other panel members will be a parent, principal, teacher and a student. 

Seamus O'Regan began his journalistic career at the age of 10 as regional correspondent for CBC Radio's national youth program. He has twice been nominated for a Gemini Award, and currently serves on the Board of Katimavik, Canada's leading youth service-learning program, and as an Honourary Advisor to Shallaway - Newfoundland and Labrador Youth in Chorus.

O'Regan has studied at St. Francis Xavier University; University College, Dublin; INSEAD, the international business school near Paris; and received his Master of Philosophy degree from the University of Cambridge, England.



Arts and Culture Education and Training