Ontario Newsroom

The Anishinabek Education System: An Overview

Archived Backgrounder

The Anishinabek Education System: An Overview

Ministry of Education

The Master Education Agreement between the Anishinabek participating First Nations and the Ontario Government will support the implementation of the Anishinabek Education System. 

The Anishinabek Education System is designed by Anishinabek First Nations for Anishinabek students. The participating First Nations will establish the Anishinabek Education System and develop culturally relevant education programs for the benefit of Anishinabek students.

The Anishinabek Education System includes the Kinoomaadziwin Education Body, Regional Education Councils and Local Education Authorities of participating First Nation communities.

The participating First Nations under the Anishinabek Education System will enact education laws that govern the Anishinabek Education System and the delivery of programs and services. Each participating First Nation has law-making power and authority over education from JK to Grade 12 on-reserve and may setup a Local Education Authority (education board or committee) to support and manage education programs and services at the community level. Participating First Nations will also establish and maintain system-wide education standards that support the transfer of Anishinabek students between the Anishinabek Education System schools and the provincial education system schools.

Participating First Nations

As of August 16, 2017, 23 Anishinabek First Nations have signed the Master Education Agreement with Ontario, including:

  1. Aamjiwnaang First Nation
  2. Aundeck Omni Kaning First Nation
  3. Atikameksheng Anishnawbek
  4. Beausoleil (Chimnissing) First Nation
  5. Biigtigong Nishnaabeg
  6. Biinjitiwaabik Zaaging Anishinaabek
  7. Chippewas of Georgina Island First Nation
  8. Chippewas of Rama First Nation
  9. Dokis First Nation
  10. Henvey Inlet First Nation
  11. Long Lake #58 First Nation
  12. Magnetawan First Nation
  13. Michipicoten First Nation
  14. Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation
  15. Moose Deer Point First Nation
  16. Munsee Delaware Nation
  17. Nipissing First Nation
  18. Pic Mobert First Nation
  19. Sheshegwaning First Nation
  20. Wahnapitae First Nation
  21. Wasauksing First Nation
  22. Whitefish River First Nation
  23. Zhiibaahaasing First Nation 

Media Contacts



Education and Training