Ontario Newsroom

History Of Algoma University College

Archived Backgrounder

History Of Algoma University College

Ministry of Colleges and Universities

Independent university status for Algoma University College marks an important milestone for both the institution and for the Sault Ste. Marie region.

Algoma University College was established in 1964 as an affiliate college of Laurentian University in Sudbury. It has had its own board of governors and senate, but has received approval for all academic programs from Laurentian. Graduating students have previously received a Laurentian University degree.

Algoma currently has about 1,200 students and offers degrees in over 30 programs, including:

  • Computer Science
  • Business Administration
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Geography and Geology
  • Community Economic and Social Development

Algoma is proud of its strong partnership with Aboriginal communities, and its long standing relationship with the Shingwauk Education Trust. Algoma offers unique programs on Anishinaabe, or Ojibwe, culture, history and language, including the province's only BA program in the Ojibwe language. Algoma also does considerable outreach to Aboriginal students.

Upon royal assent of the Legislation, Algoma will become Northern Ontario's fourth independent university, along with Laurentian University in Sudbury, Lakehead University in Thunder Bay and Nipissing University in North Bay. The Northern Ontario School of Medicine also operates two campuses, at Laurentian and Lakehead. Sault Ste. Marie is also home to Sault College of Applied Arts and Technology.

Sault Ste. Marie is a city of about 75,000 located across the St. Marys River from Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. It is home to an important steel mill as well as locks allowing shipping between Lake Superior and the lower Great Lakes.



Education and Training