Ontario Newsroom

Minister's Lifetime Achievement Award

Archived Backgrounder

Minister's Lifetime Achievement Award

Ministry of Colleges and Universities

In 2005, the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities created the Minister's Lifetime Achievement Award to be given every year to one outstanding individual who has made a significant contribution to Ontario's college system throughout their career.

The award recognizes the contribution Ontario's colleges make to the lives of students, to the communities they serve and to the economic development of our province. It is awarded each year to truly outstanding leaders in the college community - either current or retired Chief Executive Officers or senior officers who have made an enduring difference.

  • The recipient is selected by the annual Colleges Ontario Leadership Awards selection committee, composed of representatives from the government, colleges and students.

Criteria for selecting recipients

To receive a Minister's Lifetime Achievement Award, a recipient must have:

  • Demonstrated exceptional leadership over a significant period of time
  • Exemplified collegiality, working with other colleges and learning institutions, with their local communities and with students
  • Contributed to the advancement of the social and economic development of Ontario
  • Displayed a wisdom and depth of leadership that has made a significant difference locally and provincially, and
  • Promoted excellence within their own college, Ontario's college system and within postsecondary education in Ontario.

Past recipients

This year's recipient, Dr. Robert A. Gordon, joins an elite list of leaders of Ontario's college system, including:

  • 2007 - Dr. Gary Polonsky, former President of Durham College
  • 2006 - Dr. Brian Desbiens, former President of Fleming College
  • 2005 - Dr. Richard Hook, Vice President Emeritus of Humber College, and Dr. Richard Johnston, former President of Centennial College



Education and Training