Ontario Newsroom

Ontario's 2016 Council of the Federation Literacy Award Winner

Archived Backgrounder

Ontario's 2016 Council of the Federation Literacy Award Winner

Ministry of Colleges and Universities

Kenamatewin Native Learning Centre, a literacy and basic skills provider for adult learners in Kenora, is the winner of Ontario's 2016 Council of the Federation Literacy Award. 

This year's award honours an organization that has demonstrated exceptional collaborative efforts to create, implement and sustain innovative approaches to literacy that support Ontario's adult learners in reaching their goals.

Katherine Shine, Executive Director of Kenamatewin Native Learning Centre, and her staff have been leading the charge on adult literacy programming in Kenora for the past 16 years. By forging partnerships with the local school board, college, educators and key members of the provincial justice system, they have helped hundreds of at-risk, Indigenous learners upgrade their literacy skills so they can pursue further education and successfully transition to the workforce.

The team at Kenamatewin Native Learning Centre has consistently demonstrated a commitment to literacy that reaches far beyond their jobs. For nearly a decade, Katherine Shine was a volunteer board member with the Ontario Native Literacy Coalition, an organization that supports and serves native literacy service providers and learners across the province.

About the Award

The Council of the Federation Literacy Award recognizes the valuable contributions made by Canadians to literacy and celebrates the accomplishments and contributions of literacy advocates. Winners are honoured for their work in a variety of areas, including family, Indigenous, health, workplace and community literacy.

Nominees may include educators, volunteers, learners, community organizations, non-governmental organizations and businesses.

Each province and territory administers its own award with separate criteria for award categories, nomination processes, selection processes and evaluation.

Selection Committee

Kenamatewin Native Learning Centre was chosen by a three-member selection committee:

Jasur Teshaev is a program evaluation coordinator with the Strategic Policy and Programs Division of the Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development. Mr. Teshaev has been working in the field of research and analytics for more than 10 years. He has most recently been engaged in research and evaluation related to literacy and essential skills development.

Brenda Krys, of the Waterloo Region District School Board, has been an adult literacy volunteer for many years. Ms. Krys was the winner of Ontario's 2015 Council of the Federation Literacy Award. She has dedicated her retirement to helping people in the Waterloo Region improve their reading, writing and math skills.

Amy Baxter is a regional program adviser in the Western Region of the Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development. Ms. Baxter has over seven years of experience supporting a broad range of Employment Ontario programs, and has worked with 18 different literacy and basic skills service providers and support organizations.

See also:

Premier Honours Adult Learning Centre in Kenora

Media Contacts



Education and Training