Ontario Newsroom

Attorney General Announces Appointments To The Ontario Court Of Justice

Archived News Release

Attorney General Announces Appointments To The Ontario Court Of Justice

Ministry of the Attorney General

TORONTO - Attorney General Michael Bryant today announced the appointment of 10 provincial judges to the Ontario Court of Justice, effective December 3, 2003.

"I have every confidence that the remarkable achievements of these individuals will be matched by the contributions they will make to the administration of justice during their years on the bench," said Bryant.

Madam Justice Ann Alder worked as a federal prosecutor from 1987 to 1998, specializing in drug offences. Most recently, she has been a prosecutor with the Integrated Proceeds of Crime Section at the RCMP, becoming a senior counsel in 2000. Madam Justice Lise Maisonneuve was a partner with the Ottawa firm of Carroll, Wallace & Maisonneuve, practising criminal law. She has been advisor to the Canadian Forces and special legal advisor to the late Chief Justice Brian Dickson on various military investigations.

Chief Justice Brian W. Lennox has assigned Madam Justice Alder and Madam Justice Maisonneuve to preside in Ottawa.

Madam Justice Beverly Brown worked as counsel in the Office of the Chief Coroner for Ontario and was previously Crown counsel in the Crown Law Office, Criminal at the Ministry of the Attorney General, where she argued appeals in the Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court of Canada. She has also been president of the Toronto Child Abuse Centre. Mr. Justice Frederic Campling has been an assistant Crown attorney for more than 20 years, and most recently was a deputy Crown attorney in Hamilton. He has been a lecturer or panelist for various legal associations, an instructor for the Bar Admission Course and has served on the Hamilton-Wentworth Police Service Board Advisory Committee on Domestic Violence. Mr. Justice George Gage has practised civil, criminal and family law in Hamilton since 1979, most recently with Thoman, Soule & Gage, and has served as a part-time assistant Crown attorney since 1989. He has also been a member of the area Legal Aid Review Committee and a lecturer for the Hamilton Law Association.

Mr. Justice Paul Robertson, a former assistant Crown attorney, has been a defence counsel in Toronto since 1994. He has also been counsel to the Peel Regional Police Association and chair of Legal Aid Ontario's Criminal Law Advisory Committee. Mr. Justice Brian Scully has practised criminal law in Toronto for 30 years and, since 1984, has focused his practice on representing youths. He has been a panel member of the Children's Lawyer and a presenter or panelist for several legal associations.

Chief Justice Brian W. Lennox has assigned Madam Justice Brown and Justices Campling, Gage, Robertson and Scully to preside in Toronto.

Mr. Justice Simon Armstrong was a federal prosecutor for 11 years and, since 2002, has served as Deputy Director of Regional Legal Operations, Federal Prosecution Service, overseeing prosecutions and advisory work in various cities in Ontario. He has also been a litigation associate with Blake, Cassels & Graydon. He was a member of the local Criminal Justice Coordinating Committee in Brampton and has been an instructor for the Department of Justice and the Bar Admission Course. Madam Justice Kristine Bignell has been an assistant Crown attorney for the District of Algoma for 14 years, and was in charge of the implementation of the domestic violence court program in Sault Ste. Marie. She has been a member of the Sexual Assault Advisory Committee at Sault area hospitals. Madam Justice Nancy Dawson has been an assistant Crown attorney in the Toronto region for 19 years and, from 1989 to 1991, was Crown counsel on the Court Reform Task Force and Delay Reduction Project.

Chief Justice Brian W. Lennox has assigned Mr. Justice Armstrong to preside in Newmarket, Madam Justice Bignell to preside in Sault Ste. Marie, and Madam Justice Dawson to preside in Barrie.

Media Contacts