Ontario Newsroom

Attorney General Announces Judicial Appointments

Archived News Release

Attorney General Announces Judicial Appointments

New Judges To Preside In Newmarket And Brampton

Ministry of the Attorney General

TORONTO -- Attorney General Michael Bryant announced the appointment of Richard Blouin and June Maresca as provincial judges to the Ontario Court of Justice, effective August 4, 2004.

"These individuals have the breadth of experience that will enable them to make significant contributions to the bench," said Bryant. "The appointments illustrate our government's continuing investment in the justice system and commitment to stronger, safer communities."

Mr. Justice Blouin was called to the Bar in 1982, and has nearly 20 years experience in criminal matters, both as a prosecutor and defence lawyer. Most recently, he was the Youth Court manager in the Scarborough Crown Attorneys' Office and was co-chair of the Scarborough Youth Justice Steering Committee. Mr. Justice Blouin has been a member of the City of Toronto Youth Gang Work Group and has served on various committees involved in the implementation of the Youth Criminal Justice Act. He has also participated in a number of community programs that resolve disputes outside the courtroom.

Called to the Bar in 1982, Madam Justice Maresca has been in sole practice since 1987 in family, criminal and administrative law, and alternative dispute resolution. She was a panel member for the Office of the Children's Lawyer and was counsel to the Child and Family Services Review Board and the Special Education Tribunal. In 1989, Madam Justice Maresca piloted the first child protection mediation project which resulted in the creation of the Centre for Child and Family Mediation. She has been an adjunct professor at Osgoode Hall Law School, and has published articles on family mediation and child protection.

Chief Justice Brian W. Lennox has assigned Mr. Justice Blouin to preside in Newmarket and Madam Justice Maresca to preside in Brampton.

Bryant has appointed 24 judges since the McGuinty government was sworn in October 23, 2003.

Media Contacts