Ontario Newsroom

Recognizing Excellence In Legal Writing

Archived News Release

Recognizing Excellence In Legal Writing

McGuinty Government Congratulates Mundell Medal Winners

Ministry of the Attorney General

Brenda Cossman and William Kaplan have been selected as recipients of the 2009 David W. Mundell Medal. 

The Mundell Medal is presented by the Attorney General and pays tribute to those who have made a significant contribution in legal writing.

Brenda Cossman is a professor at the University of Toronto, Faculty of Law. Her writings vary from law and sexuality, family law to comparative law and have garnered international acclaim. They have generated interest among academics and the public, and have influenced developments in the law.  She is a recognized authority on many aspects of the law including feminist legal studies, family law, international human rights, and the criminal law of obscenity and indecency. Cossman is the director of the Mark S. Bonham Centre for Sexual Diversity Studies and is a member of the Women and Gender Studies Institute at the University of Toronto.

William Kaplan is a lawyer, mediator and arbitrator. He is a recognized scholar in the Canadian academic community and has contributed to the law and legal writing for many years. He has published numerous articles and books on civil liberties, immigration, citizenship, labour law and legal history. His latest book, Canadian Maverick: The Life and Times of Ivan C. Rand, recounts the story of a well-known Canadian judge and appeals both to the public and those in the legal community. Kaplan was a co-editor of the Labour Arbitration Yearbook and the Canadian Journal of Labour and Employment Law. 

Quick Facts

  • In 1986, former Attorney General Ian Scott created the Mundell Medal award to honour members of the legal profession who have made an exceptional contribution to legal writing.
  • David W. Mundell was a renowned constitutional lawyer and the first director of the Ministry of the Attorney General’s Constitutional Law Branch.

Additional Resources


“I am pleased to recognize Brenda Cossman and William Kaplan as the recipients of this year's Mundell Medal. Their scholarly and diverse writings have made the law more accessible to both academics and the public. I look forward to their future works.”

Chris Bentley

Attorney General

Media Contacts