Ontario Newsroom

Social Justice Tribunals Cluster

Archived Backgrounder

Social Justice Tribunals Cluster

Ministry of the Attorney General

The social justice tribunals cluster is the second phase of tribunal clustering in Ontario.

It brings together seven adjudicative tribunals and boards, which adjudicate matters related to human rights, residential landlord and tenant disputes, child and family services, education and other matters and includes:

  • Child and Family Services Review Board
  • Custody Review Board
  • Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario
  • Landlord and Tenant Board
  • Social Benefits Tribunal
  • Special Education Tribunals (French and English).

The McGuinty government is committed to making public services in Ontario more modern, accessible and effective. This clustering is part of the government's ongoing efforts to ensure adjudicative tribunals are accountable, transparent and efficient in their operations while remaining independent in their decision-making.

The first cluster of tribunals, Environment and Land Tribunals Ontario, was formed after extensive consultation, and officially designated as a cluster in April 2010 under the Adjudicative Tribunals Accountability, Governance and Appointments Act 2009. It's now easier for people using land-use agencies to get the information and services they require more quickly and efficiently, while maintaining the specialized expertise of the cluster's constituent tribunals.

The Act permits the government to designate two or more adjudicative tribunals as a cluster if, in the opinion of the Lieutenant-Governor in Council, the matters that the tribunals deal with are such that they can operate more effectively and efficiently as part of a cluster than alone.

Media Contacts



Home and Community Jobs and Employment Law and Safety Aboriginal People Children and Youth Consumers Francophones Newcomers People with Disabilities Seniors Women