Ontario Newsroom

Honouring Excellence in Legal Writing

Archived News Release

Honouring Excellence in Legal Writing

New Ontario Government Announces Mundell Medal Recipient

Ministry of the Attorney General

Lorne M. Sossin is the recipient of the 2012 David Walter Mundell Medal.

The Mundell Medal honours those who have made a distinguished contribution to law and letters. It celebrates great legal writing and recognizes that the artful use of language in the right style has the power to give life to ideas.

Lorne Sossin is dean of law at Osgoode Hall Law School at York University. He has written extensively in the fields of administrative law, justiciability, access to justice, and democratic governance.

Before being appointed dean in 2010, Prof. Sossin spent many years teaching in the faculty of law at the University of Toronto. Prior to that, he taught at Osgoode Hall Law School and in the department of political science at York University. He was also a law clerk to former chief justice Antonio Lamer.  

Quick Facts

  • In 1986, former Attorney General Ian Scott created the Mundell Medal to honour members of the legal profession who have made an exceptional contribution to legal writing.
  • The Mundell Medal is awarded by the Attorney General on the recommendation of a selection committee chaired by the Honourable Warren K. Winkler, Chief Justice of Ontario.
  • David W. Mundell was a renowned constitutional lawyer and the first director of the Ministry of the Attorney General's Constitutional Law Branch.

Additional Resources


“Dean Sossin is one of the most influential and respected legal scholars in Canada. Through innovative thinking, prodigious scholarship and a multi-jurisdictional and interdisciplinary approach, he has had a profound impact on the development of law in Canada.”

John Gerretsen

Attorney General

“The breadth and depth of Dean Sossin’s scholarship is impressive and his selection for the Mundell Medal brings credit to the award. Congratulations for a well deserved recognition.”

The Honourable Warren K. Winkler

Chief Justice of Ontario and Chair of the Selection Committee

Media Contacts



Arts and Culture Government Law and Safety