Ontario Newsroom

Ontario Honours Recipients of 2017 Victim Services Awards of Distinction

Archived Bulletin

Ontario Honours Recipients of 2017 Victim Services Awards of Distinction

Province Recognizes Excellence in Victim Services

Ministry of the Attorney General

Fifteen remarkable individuals and organizations from across the province received the Attorney General's Victim Services Awards of Distinction today for their outstanding work on behalf of victims of crime in Ontario.

The Victim Services Awards of Distinction recognize the exceptional achievements of dedicated professionals, organizations and volunteers working to raise awareness of victims' issues, advocate on their behalf and provide support when victims need it the most.

Some of the individuals and groups receiving awards this year include:

  • Debra Fowler, the survivor of a near-fatal assault who became a passionate activist for domestic violence victims in her community
  • Casandra Diamond, who is the founding director of BridgeNorth Newmarket, an organization dedicated to restoring the value and dignity of trafficked women 
  • Distress Centres' Survivor Support Program of Toronto, which offers specialized support to people affected by suicide or homicide and has many volunteers who have been affected by homicide or suicide themselves.

Attorney General Yasir Naqvi presented the awards to all 15 recipients at a ceremony today at Queen's Park.

Quick Facts

  • May 28 – June 3, 2017 is Victims and Survivors of Crime Week.
  • The Victim Support Line is a provincewide, toll-free telephone service, providing information and referrals to victims of crime in many languages. The support line can be accessed at 1-888-579-2888, or in the Greater Toronto Area at 416-314-2447.
  • The victim services online service directory helps victims of violent crimes find services available in communities across Ontario.
  • The Victim/Witness Assistance Program marks its 30th anniversary this year.

Background Information

Additional Resources


“By helping victims of crime rebuild their lives, the people and organizations we are honouring today have done their communities and fellow Ontarians a tremendous service. I am inspired by their passion to make a difference, and hope that their dedication and courage will be an example of how each of us can help make our communities safer places to live.”

Yasir Naqvi

Attorney General

“This year’s award recipients are inspiring leaders who have demonstrated incredible courage and resilience. I am honoured to recognize their outstanding accomplishments and express my deepest gratitude for their compassionate and ongoing commitment to victims and survivors of crime.”

Ruth Campbell

Chair of the Office for Victims of Crime

Media Contacts



Law and Safety