Ontario Newsroom

Honouring Excellence in Legal Writing


Honouring Excellence in Legal Writing

Ontario Congratulates 2018 Mundell Medal Recipient

Ministry of the Attorney General

Ontario has awarded the 2018 David Walter Mundell Medal for excellence in legal writing to Martha Jackman.

Martha Jackman is a professor in the Common Law Section of the University of Ottawa's Faculty of Law. After completing her law degree from the University of Toronto, she obtained a Master of Law degree from Yale Law School.

She specializes in the area of constitutional law with a focus on issues relating to women and other marginalized groups. Professor Jackman is Canada's leading scholar on socio-economic rights, as reflected by her extensive and powerful writing in this area. In 2007, she received the Law Society of Upper Canada Medal for her contributions to the profession and in 2017, she was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.

Quick Facts

  • In 1986, former Attorney General Ian Scott created the Mundell Medal to honour Ontario authors who have made an exceptional contribution to legal writing.
  • David Walter Mundell was a renowned constitutional lawyer and the first director of the Ministry of the Attorney General's constitutional law branch.
  • The Mundell Medal is awarded by the Attorney General on the recommendation of a selection committee chaired by the Honourable George Strathy, Chief Justice of Ontario.

Additional Resources


“I am pleased to recognize Martha Jackman for her outstanding contribution to legal writing. As a leading scholar on socio-economic and equality rights, her writing offers a novel and bold approach to advancing equality. Professor Jackman’s work is at once thought-provoking, accessible and engaging.”

Caroline Mulroney

Attorney General

“Martha Jackman is a dynamic writer who challenges us with ideas about how we can be a more inclusive, open and just society. She tackles difficult problems of disparity with innovative approaches to socio-economic and equality rights.”

The Honourable George Strathy

Chief Justice of Ontario and Chair of the Selection Committee

Media Contacts