Ontario Newsroom

Ontario honours advocates for newcomers, diversity

Archived News Release

Ontario honours advocates for newcomers, diversity

McGuinty Government Recognizes Ten Newcomer Champions

Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration

Ontarians who have gone the extra mile to help newcomers integrate and share our diverse culture are being honoured by the province. 

Newcomer champion awards will be awarded to:

  • Liban A. Abdi of Hamilton
  • Dr. Paul Caulford of Toronto
  • Maureen Geddes of Chatham-Kent
  • Adit Kumar of Scarborough
  • Jeffrey Byunghun Min of North York
  • New Pioneers Awards Team of Toronto (Group award)
  • Carmela Nini of Guelph
  • Dr. Peter Ashward Sealy of Toronto
  • Frances Martino-Soulliere of Amherstburg
  • Yasmin Vali of Scarborough

Created in 2007, the Newcomer Champion Awards recognize Ontarians who have facilitated cultural understanding and diversity and/or helped newcomers to successfully settle and integrate.

The ceremony will take place on National Multiculturalism Day, Friday June 27, 2008 at 11:00 a.m. at St. Lawrence Hall in Toronto.

Quick Facts

  • The Newcomer Champion Awards were inspired by the contributions of three Ontario visionaries, who epitomize the spirit of the awards: Daniel Iannuzzi, Jean Lumb and Mary Ann Shadd.
  • Recipients are selected by an independent committee made up of five community members involved in helping newcomers and promoting cultural diversity.

Background Information

Additional Resources


“It is especially fitting that we are honouring these champions on National Multiculturalism Day when we celebrate the economic, social and cultural benefits of diversity. Ontario is a more welcoming place because of them.”

Michael Chan

Minister of Citizenship and Immigration



Arts and Culture Government Home and Community Newcomers