Ontario Newsroom

Order of Ontario appointments announced

Archived News Release

Order of Ontario appointments announced

Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration

Former Premier David Peterson, former Chief Justice Patrick LeSage, human rights activist George Brady, former Olympic figure skater Barbara Ann Scott-King, medical researcher Dr. Michael Baker and publisher Ellen Seligman are among the new appointees to the Order of Ontario.  

The black tie investiture ceremony into the Order will take place at Queen's Park on January 22, 2009.

Named to the Order of Ontario are:

  • Dr. Michael Baker of Toronto, a leading researcher whose work has led to a better understanding of leukemia and other cancers.
  • George Brady of Toronto, a human rights advocate, public speaker and Auschwitz survivor, whose family story has been immortalized in the book Hana's Suitcase.
  • Jack Chiang of Kingston, a journalist and author who has engaged in extensive community service work.
  • Tony Dean of Toronto, who, as Secretary of the Cabinet, transformed the Ontario Public Service.
  • Mary Louise Dickson of Toronto, a lawyer, educator and advocate for people with disabilities.
  • Noel Edison of Elora, the conductor of the Elora Festival Singers, a national professional Choir, Artistic Director of the Elora Festival and the conductor of the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir.
  • Frank Fernandes of Toronto, a businessman and volunteer with organizations such as the Toronto Police Service and St. John Ambulance.
  • The Honourable Jean Robert Gauthier of Ottawa, for his work in community service and in particular for his work in advancing French-language education.
  • Heather Gibson of Milton, one of the foremost Canadian educators specializing in American Sign Language (ASL) Bilingual Education and ASL Language Arts Curriculum and the first linguistically and culturally Deaf principal in Ontario.
  • Robert A. Gordon of Toronto, an educator and leader in the community college movement. He served as president of Humber College for 25 years.
  • Gordon Cecil Gray of Richmond Hill, businessman and philanthropist. His community service includes chairing fundraising campaigns that have raised millions of dollars for health care and education.
  • Susan Hoeg of Georgina Island for her community service contributions, particularly on behalf of the Chippewas of Georgina Island.
  • Claude Lamoureux of Toronto, a champion of ethical business practice, expert in financial services and former president and chief executive officer of the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan.
  • The Honourable Patrick J. Le Sage of Toronto, distinguished lawyer and former Chief Justice for the Ontario Superior Court of Justice.
  • Dr. Joe MacInnis of Toronto, internationally renowned physician, scientist and undersea explorer. His research made it possible to work in the deep ocean.
  • Dr. David H. MacLennan of Toronto for his contribution to the field of science. A biomedical scientist, he is an international expert in biochemistry, genetics and physiology of muscle function.
  • Lorna Marsden of Toronto, an administrator and former senator for her contribution to academia and public service.
  • The Honourable David Peterson of Toronto, a lawyer and former premier of Ontario recognized for his public service and community service contributions.
  • Ed Ratushny for his contributions to education and law. He is an expert on the Canadian judiciary.
  • Rosemary Sadlier of Toronto, an author and president of the Ontario Black History Society, for her contributions to literature and community service.
  • Dr. Fuad Sahin of Niagara-on-the-Lake, for his contributions to community service. He is a founder of the International Development and Relief Foundation.
  • Barbara Ann Scott-King of Florida, former Olympic figure skater, for her contributions to Canadian sport.
  • Ellen Seligman of Toronto for her contributions to publishing and her support of Canadian authors. Her books and authors have won recognition and prizes in Canada and abroad, including The Giller Prize and The Booker Prize.
  • Peter Guy Silverman of Toronto, for aiding thousands of people through his program Silverman Helps, the longest running advocacy program in Ontario.
  • David Smith of Ottawa, for his philanthropic contributions which have raised millions of dollars for charity.
  • Ted Szilva of Sudbury, the originator and developer of the Big Nickel Project, a world-famous tourist attraction that gives visitors the opportunity to learn about mining. He continues to be a community activist.
  • Mary Welsh of Brantford, being recognized for her 35 years of community and civic contributions.
  • Peter George, an appointee from 2007, will also be invested with his medal in the January 22 ceremony.

Quick Facts

  • The Order of Ontario is the highest honour bestowed upon individuals by the province and recognizes excellence in any field of endeavour.
  • Nominations are made by members of the general public. The annual deadline for nominations is March 16.
  • An Advisory Council reviews the nominations, and makes recommendations to the Lieutenant Governor in Council regarding appointments to the Order.

Additional Resources


“I am pleased to invest some of our province’s most deserving citizens into the Order of Ontario. This distinguished honour is bestowed on those who have gone above and beyond, those who have demonstrated excellence in various fields of endeavour.”

Honourable David C. Onley

Lieutenant Governor of Ontario and Chancellor of the Order of Ontario

“The Order of Ontario is a wonderful opportunity to honour people who have made an outstanding contribution to our province. The recipients exemplify the diversity of strengths and interests of the people of Ontario.”

Honourable Warren Winkler

Chief Justice of Ontario and Chair of the Order of Ontario Advisory Council

Media Contacts

  • Nanda Casucci-Byrne

    Office of the Lieutenant Governor




Arts and Culture Home and Community