Ontario Newsroom

Ontarians Honoured With Medal For Good Citizenship

Archived Backgrounder

Ontarians Honoured With Medal For Good Citizenship

Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration

Eleven recipients from across the province will receive the 2011 Ontario Medal for Good Citizenship:

Donna Cardoza, Markham, is a member of York Region's Equity Council and the Alliance of Educators for Black Students in York Region. Four years ago, she created the Nubian Book Club for at-risk students to enhance and maintain their literacy skills throughout the summer.

Christopher Harris, Ottawa, is a founding member of the Jamaican (Ottawa) Community Association, a recipient of the Order of Canada and the Order of Ontario, a community leader and a role model in Ottawa. He has volunteered with Ottawa-Carleton police for the past 60 years and the RCMP for 26 years.

Dr. Frederic (Eric) Jackman, Toronto - his leadership in the not-for-profit sector includes tenures as the Founding Chair of the Leaders of the Way Division of the United Way of Toronto, President of the Multiple Sclerosis Society, Board Member of Toronto Caravan Director of the Cabbagetown Youth Centre, and Director of the Tarragon Theatre. Dr. Jackman is also a recipient of the Order of Canada and the Order of Ontario.

Senator Dr. Alis Kennedy, Woodbridge, is a Métis leader and a founding member of the Centennial College Aboriginal Studies Council. She is a member of the steering committee of the Archaeological Management Plan in York Region and an active member of the National Aboriginal Veterans Association. She advocates for First Nations, Métis and Inuit people in difficulties with the law.

Wilmer Matthews, Barry's Bay, is a community leader who has given of his time to many organizations. As a board member of the St. Francis Memorial Hospital Foundation, he led a campaign that raised more than a million dollars. As a member of the inaugural board of the Champlain Region Local Health Integration Network, he was an advocate for improvement to rural health care systems.

Jack Prazeres, Mississauga, is a successful entrepreneur and businessman who led the development of the five-million-dollar Luso Canadian Charitable Society Centre that provides support services to those with physical or developmental disabilities. 

Ian Proudfoot, Newmarket, was the first chair of the Board of Directors for the Newmarket Downtown Development Committee, chair of the Newmarket Economic Development Advisory Committee and led in the creation of the annual Celebration of the Arts event.

Dr. Al Scarth, Midhurst, is a 25-year Simcoe County volunteer, notably as initial chair with the Children's Treatment Network, an organization to serve children with multiple disabilities, as chair of the Detox Centre in Barrie helping those with addictions into recovery programs and as chair of Community Care Access of Simcoe County.

Betty-Lou Souter, St. Catharines, has spent more than 30 years aiding and advocating for citizens in Niagara as a community leader, social advocate and volunteer in the Niagara Region. She is Chair of the Board of Directors of the YMCA, Niagara, Past Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Niagara Health System, and Past Chair of the Board of Directors of the Niagara Community Foundation.

Khalid Usman, Markham, has organized fundraising for schools, hospitals and not-for-profit organizations. He has served on the Board of Directors of the Markham-Stouffville hospital, and has volunteered for organizations such as the Unionville Home Society Residence for Seniors, the Canadian Federation of Intercultural Friendship and the International Development and Relief Foundation.

Olive Watts Miller, (deceased), Mallorytown, was a tireless volunteer who was involved with at least 14 organizations, one of them for almost 30 years and others for close to 20 years. The organizations include the Brock Cottage and Tennent House addiction recovery homes, Brockville, Women's Network, Canadian Mental Health Association and Heart and Stroke.

Media Contacts