Ontario Newsroom

Young Aboriginal Writers Receive James Bartleman Award

News Release

Young Aboriginal Writers Receive James Bartleman Award

Ontario Celebrates Six Young Aboriginal Writers

Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration

Ontario is honouring six young Aboriginal writers from across the province for writing outstanding stories that celebrate their cultures.

The James Bartleman Aboriginal Youth Creative Writing Award celebrates Aboriginal youth for their creative writing efforts and provides an opportunity for them to showcase their work to a broader audience. The 2014 award recipients are:

  • Brooklyne Amyot for her poem that compares Canada to a playground.
  • Natalie Court for her poem about the beauty in what we often call our flaws.
  • Krista Lee for her essay on multiculturalism in Canadian society and the role of Aboriginal peoples.
  • Anawahs Migwans for her story about a girl born with one blue eye and one brown eye.
  • Steven Okeese for his short story about same-sex relationships and the struggle for acceptance from family.
  • Jada Sofea for her essay on hope in her community of Webequie.

Honouring the diversity and talents of young Ontarians supports the government's economic plan for Ontario. The four part plan is building Ontario up by investing in people's talents and skills, building new public infrastructure like roads and transit, creating a dynamic, supportive environment where business thrives and building a secure retirement savings plan so everyone can afford to retire.

Quick Facts

  • The Honourable James K. Bartleman was Ontario’s 27th Lieutenant Governor and Ontario’s first Aboriginal Lieutenant Governor. He implemented four literacy initiatives for Aboriginal youth across Ontario during his time in office.
  • Since its creation in 2008, 42 Aboriginal youth have been honoured with a James Bartleman Aboriginal Youth Creative Writing Award.
  • Nominations are now open for next year’s awards. The closing date for submissions is May 31, 2015.
  • Eligible participants must be 18 years of age or younger at the time they submitted an entry, enrolled in an Ontario school, self-identify as an Aboriginal person, and be a permanent resident of Ontario.

Additional Resources


“I am truly inspired by these six young authors. Their words further our understanding of the varied perspectives and experiences of Aboriginal peoples in Ontario, providing an opportunity for us all to reflect on our collective identity as Canadians.”

The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell

Lieutenant Governor of Ontario

“These six young writers represent exactly what this award is intended to encourage. They have taken their own unique experiences and married them with their creative writing talent to create stories that move us and expand our understanding of one another.”

The Honourable James K. Bartleman

Former Lieutenant Governor of Ontario

“I’m impressed by the outstanding work of this talented group of young people. The Bartleman Award is a great opportunity for young Aboriginal writers to be recognized for their literary abilities. I hope this recognition inspires them to keep on writing.”

The Honourable Michael Chan

Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and International Trade

Media Contacts



Arts and Culture Government