Ontario Newsroom

26 Ontarians Named to Province's Highest Honour

Archived News Release

26 Ontarians Named to Province's Highest Honour

Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration

Internationally celebrated writer and lecturer John Ralston Saul, social justice advocate Barbara MacQuarrie, and former Executive Director of the Canadian branch of Doctors Without Borders Marilyn McHarg were among 26 extraordinary Ontarians invested into the Order of Ontario today.

The Order of Ontario recognizes individuals who have demonstrated excellence and achievement in any field benefiting the people of Ontario or anywhere in the world.

The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario and Chancellor of the Order of Ontario, invested the appointees during a ceremony at Queen's Park.

Quick Facts

  • Created in 1986, the Order of Ontario is the province's highest honour.
  • The deadline for nominations is March 16 of each year. Nominations are made by members of the public. Any resident or former long-term resident of Ontario can be nominated.
  • In 2016, the Order of Ontario will mark its 30th anniversary.

Background Information

Additional Resources


“I am proud to formally welcome these 26 remarkable people into the Order of Ontario. Their diverse and significant contributions have had an impact on the lives of millions of Ontarians, improving our quality of life, making our communities stronger and positioning this province as an international centre of excellence in many endeavours.”

The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell

Lieutenant Governor of Ontario

Media Contacts