Ontario Newsroom

Three Young Leaders Receive Lincoln M. Alexander Award

Archived News Release

Three Young Leaders Receive Lincoln M. Alexander Award

Province Celebrates Young Ontarians Fighting Racial Discrimination

Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration

Ontario is honouring three young leaders with the 2015 Lincoln M. Alexander Award for their work to end racial discrimination and promote positive social change.

The recipients are: 

  • Darian Baskatawang of Whitesand First Nation, for his efforts to improve the quality of life for Aboriginal youth across Ontario.
  • Najma Malaq of Mississauga, for promoting African culture and history in her community and building an inclusive school community.
  • Shailene Panylo of Oshawa, for her work encouraging respect and acceptance of diverse cultures and identities.

The Lincoln M. Alexander Award is presented each year to three Ontarians between the ages of 16 and 25 who have demonstrated exemplary leadership in promoting positive social change.  


Quick Facts

  • The Lincoln M. Alexander Award was created in 1993 to commemorate the legacy of the Honourable Lincoln Alexander, Ontario’s 24th Lieutenant Governor who served from 1985-1991.
  • The Lincoln M. Alexander Award recognizes youth who work to promote social change through their commitment to eliminating racial discrimination.
  • Lincoln Alexander was the first black Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, the first black Member of Parliament and the first black federal Cabinet Minister. He passed away on Oct.19, 2012.
  • Lincoln Alexander Day is celebrated each year on January 21 in Ontario and across Canada on the anniversary of Lincoln Alexander’s birthday.

Background Information

Additional Resources


“I take pride in recognizing these three young Ontarians who demonstrate leadership, dedication, and commitment to eliminating discrimination. With creativity they promote cultural awareness and help us all to understand that diversity is a strength and inclusion a worthy and essential goal.”

The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell

Lieutenant Governor of Ontario

“Congratulations to the 2015 recipients of the Lincoln M. Alexander Award. It is a privilege to celebrate their work promoting positive change in our society. Their efforts not only help make Ontario a better place, but serve as inspiration for others to make a difference.”

The Honourable Michael Chan

Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and International Trade

Media Contacts



Government Home and Community