Ontario Newsroom

Ottawa Bridges Dedicated To Fallen Provincial Police Officers

Archived News Release

Ottawa Bridges Dedicated To Fallen Provincial Police Officers

McGuinty Government Pays Tribute To Local Heroes

Ministry of the Solicitor General

Five bridges in the Ottawa area have been officially dedicated in the memory of four Ontario Provincial Police (OPP) officers and one provincial traffic officer who died in the line of duty.

The fallen officers are:

  • Provincial Traffic Officer Constable Hiram C. O'Callaghan, died on January 13, 1928.
  • OPP Constable John F. Montgomery, died on July 31, 1931.
  • OPP Constable Harold H. Dent, died on June 20, 1940.
  • OPP Constable J. Robert Maki, died on April 4, 1966.
  • OPP Constable Kenneth M. Swett, died on July 17, 1981.

Four of the bridges are located along Highway 417. A fifth bridge is located along Highway 416. All bridges are close to where the officers passed away. A memorial sign with a fallen officer's name and police service crest has been posted on all sides of each bridge.

Ontario has permitted bridges and other highway structures to be named in memory of fallen police officers since 2002.

Quick Facts

  • The Highway Memorial for Fallen Police Officers Act is based on a bill introduced by Sudbury MPP Rick Bartolucci, as a private member.
  • Eleven bridges have been dedicated to fallen police officers since 2002.
  • In 2007, Ontario dedicated a stretch of Highway 401 from Trenton to Toronto Highway of Heroes, in honour of Canadian Forces personnel killed during the War in Afghanistan.

Background Information

Additional Resources


“Dedicating bridges in the name of fallen officers reminds all of us of the important role they played, and continue to play, in service to our communities and province.”

Jim Bradley

Minister of Transportation

“These bridges now stand as a lasting tribute to the five brave police officers who put their lives on the line to keep our communities safe.”

Jim Watson

MPP for Ottawa West-Nepean

“The men and women of the OPP are very pleased to see that our colleagues who made the ultimate sacrifice have not been forgotten by the communities they gave their lives to protect.”

Julian Fantino

Commissioner of the Ontario Provincial Police

Media Contacts

  • Laura Blondeau

    Minister's Office, Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services


  • Anthony Brown

    Communications Branch, Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services


  • Nicole Lippa-Gasparro

    Minister's Office, Ministry of Transportation


  • Bob Nichols

    Communications Branch, Ministry of Transportation




Government Home and Community Law and Safety