Ontario Newsroom

Membership of Ontario's Income Security Reform Working Group

Archived Backgrounder

Membership of Ontario's Income Security Reform Working Group

Ontario has established an Income Security Reform Working Group to help guide the province's efforts to reduce poverty, support people in their efforts to participate in the economy, and provide services in a way that makes sense to the people who need them. Members include:

Paula Allen
Paula Allen is Vice President of Research and Integrative Solutions for Morneau Shepell.

Pedro Barata
Pedro Barata is Vice President, Communications and Public Affairs at United Way Toronto & York Region.

Dr. Gary Bloch
Dr. Gary Bloch is a family physician with St. Michael’s Hospital in Toronto, and co-Chair of the Ontario College of Family Physicians Committee on Poverty and Health.  

Pat Capponi
Pat Capponi is a Canadian author and an advocate for mental health and poverty issues in Canada.

Giuliana Carbone
Giuliana Carbone is Deputy City Manager, for the City of Toronto.

Laura Cattari
Laura Cattari is the Campaign Co-Ordinator, Hamilton Roundtable for Poverty Reduction

Debbie Douglas
Debbie Douglas is the Executive Director of the Ontario Council of Agencies Serving Immigrants and a founding steering committee member of Colour of Poverty, Colour of Change.

Dr. Ruth Koleszar-Green
Dr. Ruth Koleszar-Green is an Assistant Professor, School of Social Work, York University

Mary Marrone
Mary Marrone is Director of Advocacy & Legal Services, Income Security Advocacy Centre.

Lekan Olawoye
Lekan Olawoye is the Program Director of Studio Y, MaRS Discovery District

Bina Osthoff
Bina Osthoff is a Manager in the Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP), Ministry of Community and Social Services (MCSS).

Keith Palmer
Keith Palmer is President, Ontario Municipal Social Services Association.

Janet Patterson
Janet Patterson is the Chief Administrative Officer for the Parry Sound District Social Services Board.

Janet Reansbury
Janet Reansbury is Executive Director, Community Living Brant

John Stapleton
John Stapleton is an Innovations Fellow with the Metcalf Foundation and sits on the Ministry of Community and Social Services’ advisory group on social assistance reform and Toronto’s advisory group on poverty reduction.

Media Contacts



Business and Economy Government Poverty Reduction