Ontario Newsroom

Premier's Discovery Awards panel members

Archived Backgrounder

Premier's Discovery Awards panel members

The Premier's Discovery Awards review panel is composed of recognized and accomplished researchers and innovators from across Canada. The nominations for this award program were peer reviewed through a highly competitive process to ensure they demonstrate excellence and leadership in research.

Panel Chair

Dr. Geoffrey Flynn
Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry and Executive Director, Strategic Initiatives,
Office of Advancement, Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario
Natural Sciences and Engineering Sub-Panel

Dr. Octavian Catuneanu
Geology and sedimentology
Professor, Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta

Dr. John Grace
Fluid-particle and multiphase systems, clean energy, heat and mass transfer, reactors, air pollution, occupational and environmental exposures
Professor and Canada Research Chair in Clean Energy Processes
Director, Fluidization Research Centre, University of British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia

Dr. Tito Scaiano
Professor and Canada Research Chair in Applied Photochemistry, University of Ottawa
Ottawa, Ontario

Dr. David Sinclair
Professor of Physics, Carleton University and Director of SNOLAB
Ottawa, Ontario
Social Sciences and Humanities Sub-Panel

Dr. David Cameron
Political science, federal-provincial relations; national unity; constitutional reform
Professor and Chair of the Department of Political Science, University of Toronto
Toronto, Ontario

Dr. Susan Horton
Vice-President Academic, Wilfrid Laurier University
Waterloo, Ontario

Dr. Alex Michalos
Political science; social research and evaluation
Chancellor; Professor Emeritus and Director of the Institute for Social Research and Evaluation, University of Northern British Columbia
Prince George, British Columbia

Dr. Brian Timney
Professor and Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Western Ontario
London, Ontario
Life Sciences and Medicine Sub-Panel

Dr. Rhoda Blostein
Professor of Medicine and Biochemistry,
Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre
Montreal, Quebec

Dr. Carol Cass
Professor and Canadian Research Chair in Oncology, University of Alberta
Director of the Cross Cancer Institute
Edmonton, Alberta

Dr. Brock Fenton
Professor and Chair, Department of Biology, University of Western Ontario
London, Ontario

Dr. R. Larry Peterson
University Professor Emeritus, College of Biological Science, University of Guelph
Guelph, Ontario
Innovation Leadership Sub-Panel

Dr. Robert Burrell
Professor and Canada Research Chair in Nanostructured Biomaterials
University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta

Dr. Richard Munz
Professor of Chemical Engineering
McGill University
Montreal, Quebec

Dr. Tony Redpath
Venture Group Advisor, MaRS Discovery District
Toronto, Ontario

Dr. Mihaela Ulieru
Computational Intelligence
Professor of computer science and Canada Research Chair in Adaptive Information Infrastructures for the eSociety, Director of Adaptive Risk Management Laboratory, University of New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick 

Background Information

Additional Resources