Ontario Newsroom

Ontario Public Servants Honoured

Archived News Release

Ontario Public Servants Honoured

McGuinty Government Applauds Employee Excellence

Twenty-five individuals and teams are being celebrated for their outstanding public service.

The annual Amethyst Awards program recognizes Ontario Public Service employees for their outstanding leadership, customer service, collaboration and innovation in serving Ontarians.

The prestigious Sandra D. Lang Lifetime Achievement Award is being given to Dr. Carlana Lindeman. The retired Thunder Bay regional manager for the Ministry of Education worked tirelessly with school boards and Aboriginal leaders to help more students reach their full potential.

Other staff being recognized include:

  • A team that is saving the government $100 million annually by merging email systems and bringing together nine separate help and order desks.
  • An individual who has brought more than one hundred groups together to establish a common vision on children's mental health issues.
  • A team that launched a successful public hygiene campaign in hospitals.
  • An individual who created a program that educates youth about online predators and bullying.

Quick Facts

Background Information


“I want to thank this year's Amethyst Award recipients and nominees for using their experience, skills and creativity in service to Ontario. Their work helps make life better by building stronger communities for all Ontario families.”

Dalton McGuinty

Premier of Ontario

“Leadership, teamwork, creativity and a vision for transformation are attributes of this year's Amethyst recipients who strive daily to make this province one of the best places in the world to live, work and raise a family.”

Shelly Jamieson

Secretary of the Cabinet and Head of the Ontario Public Service

Media Contacts



Education and Training Government Health and Wellness Home and Community Law and Safety Children and Youth