Ontario Newsroom

South Bruce Peninsula Councillor Receives Long-Standing Service Award

Archived Bulletin

South Bruce Peninsula Councillor Receives Long-Standing Service Award

McGuinty Government Honours Municipal Official

Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

South Bruce Peninsula Councillor Stan Hoath is the recipient of a 25-year Long-Standing Service Award from the Province of Ontario.

Before becoming councillor of the Town of South Bruce Peninsula in 1999, Hoath served in the capacities of councillor, deputy reeve, and reeve for the former Town of Wiarton from 1980 to 1988, and 1991 to 1999. 

As councillor, he finds his one-on-one contact with ratepayers rewarding, and he strives to treat everyone fairly.

Long-Standing Service Awards are given to municipally-elected officials with at least 25 years of service. The program was introduced by the Ontario government in 2004.  

Quick Facts

  • Municipally-elected officials with 50 years of service started being recognized with a similar award in 2006.
  • Service does not have to be consecutive or with the same municipality for these awards.

Additional Resources


“The Long-Standing Service Award is a fitting tribute to recognize our locally-elected officials, and I would like to specifically thank Councillor Hoath for his dedication to public service.”

Jim Watson

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Media Contacts



Government Home and Community Jobs and Employment Francophones People with Disabilities Seniors Women