Ontario Newsroom

Helping Flood-Damaged Communities in Algoma District

Archived News Release

Helping Flood-Damaged Communities in Algoma District

Ontario Funding Recovery Efforts in Northeastern Municipalities

Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Ontario is providing $3.25 million to support flood recovery efforts in five communities in Algoma District.

Through the Ontario Disaster Relief Assistance Program, funding will help the municipalities rebuild vital infrastructure such as bridges and roads. A portion of the funding will also help residents in affected areas repair homes and small businesses and replace essential property.

Municipalities receiving support are:

  • Huron Shores
  • Johnson Township
  • Laird Township
  • MacDonald, Meredith and Aberdeen Additional Township

  • Plummer Additional Township

The province will continue to work with the municipalities to assess the full extent of flood damage and determine all eligible costs.

Quick Facts

  • The flooding and road washouts occurred after severe rainstorms on September 10, 2013 in several communities in the Algoma District.
  • The Ontario Disaster Relief Assistance Program program offers public support for municipalities to respond to emergencies and repair public assets as well as private support to help individuals and businesses replace essential property.

Additional Resources


“We appreciate the prompt response and exceptional effort by emergency workers and residents in the Algoma District. Along with our municipal partners, the province will continue to help businesses and families recover and rebuild their communities.”

Linda Jeffrey

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Media Contacts



Business and Economy Driving and Roads Environment and Energy Government Home and Community Rural and North