Ontario Newsroom

Helping Communities in Northwestern Ontario Damaged by Flooding

Archived Bulletin

Helping Communities in Northwestern Ontario Damaged by Flooding

Province Supporting Recovery Efforts

Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

The Ontario government is assisting four northwestern Ontario communities with flood recovery efforts. 

Through the Ontario Disaster Relief Assistance Program, funding will help the municipalities rebuild critical infrastructure such as roads.

Municipalities receiving support are:

  • Township of Emo
  • Town of Fort Frances
  • Township of La Vallee
  • Town of Rainy River

The Ontario government will continue to work with the municipalities to assess the full extent of flood damage and determine all eligible costs.

Quick Facts

  • The province is providing up to $2.47 million to support flood recovery efforts in the Township of Emo, the Town of Fort Frances, the Township of La Vallee and the Town of Rainy River.
  • Considerable rainfall in spring 2014 caused water levels to rise on Rainy River and Rainy Lake, resulting in flooding and threatening public infrastructure in affected communities.
  • The Ontario Disaster Relief Assistance Program offers public support for municipalities to respond to emergencies and repair public assets.

Background Information

Additional Resources


“I want to congratulate the extraordinary effort of emergency workers and residents in these communities. Ontario stands with our cities, towns and citizens when they are in great need.”

Ted McMeekin

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Media Contacts



Government Home and Community Rural and North