Ontario Newsroom

Greenbelt Council Membership

Archived Backgrounder

Greenbelt Council Membership

Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Ontario is adding expertise and expanding responsibilities of the Greenbelt Council to advise the province on the Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe and the Oak Ridges Moraine Conservation Plan, while continuing to give advice on the Greenbelt Plan. The council will provide advice to help ensure that environmental protection and growth are effectively managed in the Greater Golden Horseshoe region.

The Honourable David Crombie will take on the role of chair and seven new members will be joining the council.

David Crombie, Chair, has served as mayor of Toronto, member of Parliament, and federal cabinet minister. He has also served as president of the Canadian Urban Institute, chair of Ontario Place, founding chair of the Waterfront Regeneration Trust and chancellor, Ryerson University. He is currently chair of the Toronto Lands Corp. and recently chaired the advisory panel for the Co-ordinated Land Use Planning Review. He is a member of the Order of Ontario and an officer in the Order of Canada.

Dr. Pamela Blais is an urban planner with a focus on creating better cities by integrating planning, economic and environmental thinking in the analysis of urban issues and the development of innovative policy. She is principal of Metropole Consultants and the author of Perverse Cities: Hidden Subsidies, Wonky Policies and Urban Sprawl, which was shortlisted for the 2011 Donner Book Prize, given to the best Canadian public policy book of the year.

Marcy Burchfield is executive director of the Neptis Foundation, an independent charitable foundation that conducts and shares non-partisan research, analysis and mapping related to the design and function of Canadian urban regions. She has worked on research and analysis that has informed Ontario's Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe, the Greenbelt Plan and the Regional Transportation Plan.

Dr. Wayne Caldwell is professor of rural planning and development at the University of Guelph. His recent books include Planning for Rural Resilience and Farmland Preservation: Land for Future Generations. He has served either as chair or as president of a number of local, provincial and national organizations. 

Debbe Crandall has been involved with the Save the Oak Ridges Moraine Coalition since 1990; she was its executive director from 1999 to 2012 and is currently acting as policy advisor. She is a past chair of the Oak Ridges Moraine Foundation and is keenly interested in the role that civil society must play in governing for sustainability and resilience.

Kevin Eby is a registered professional planner and president of Eby Growth Management Planning Services. He has held several management roles at the Region of Waterloo including director of community planning for over 15 years. He was instrumental in delivering the region's official plan, including changes to address growth management, source water protection, landscape ecology and rural cultural diversity.

Heather Konefat is a senior professional planner with extensive municipal leadership experience at the provincial, regional and local level, in the provinces of Ontario and Alberta. She has had senior leadership responsibility for growth management strategies, environmental protection policy development, aggregate and agricultural land management issues.

Peter Lambrick has farmed in Halton Region since the mid-1970s while being actively involved in local and provincial planning matters in the Niagara Escarpment area and the Greenbelt. He has chaired the GTA Agricultural Action Committee that produced the GTA Agricultural Action Plan 2021.

Deborah Martin-Downs is chief administrative officer of the Credit Valley Conservation Authority, where she is responsible for all facets of strategic planning, finance and operations. Previously, she was director of the Ecology Division of the Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (TRCA) and spent 16 years as an environmental consultant with Gartner Lee Limited.

Leith Moore is a business leader in the residential development sector. He is past chair of the Building Industry and Land Development Association (BILD), former president of the Ontario Home Builders' Association (OHBA), and was a member of the advisory panel for the Co-ordinated Land Use Planning Review and the 2013 Ontario Transit Investment Strategy Panel.

Linda Pim is an environmental biologist and registered land use planner. Over the past 40 years, she has held several environmental and land use policy positions with both the Ontario government (most recently at the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs) and environmental and conservation non-governmental organizations. She is also a commissioner on the Niagara Escarpment Commission.

Dr. Laura Taylor is an environmental planner who studies the urban-rural fringe and is especially interested in planning for the development and conservation of the countryside. She is an associate professor in the planning program at the Faculty of Environmental Studies, York University and a consulting planner in the Greater Toronto Area.

Alan Wells is a retired municipal administrator who worked for 27 years with the Region of York, including seven years as Chief Administrative Officer. He then served as Ontario's Provincial Development Facilitator from 2005 to 2007. In 2008, he was appointed chair of the Rouge Park Alliance until the board's activities were transferred to Parks Canada in 2012.  He is now active with the York/Durham Chapter of Ontario Woodlot Association and North Durham Nature.

Bill Winegard, a planner by trade, worked for 16 years with the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing and 11 years as a municipal CAO in Gravenhurst and Caledon. Since 2002, he has been working in municipal management consulting, primarily for smaller municipalities.

Media Contacts



Business and Economy Environment and Energy Government