Ontario Newsroom

Ontario Appoints New CEO and Board of Directors to Lead Energy Agency Merger

Archived News Release

Ontario Appoints New CEO and Board of Directors to Lead Energy Agency Merger

New Organization will Reduce Overlap and Oversee Efficiencies

Ontario intends to appoint Bruce Campbell as CEO of the new Independent Electricity System Operator as the government moves ahead with the merger of the Ontario Power Authority (OPA) and the Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO).

Amalgamating the agencies will streamline electricity sector planning by reducing overlap and is expected to save millions of dollars going forward. The merger supports the government's commitment to improve agency efficiency, reduce costs and help mitigate future cost impacts to ratepayers.

Bruce Campbell has served as President and CEO of the IESO since May 1, 2013, overseeing the safe and reliable operation of Ontario's bulk electrical system.

Working collaboratively with the Society of Energy Professionals and the Power Workers Union has resulted in a framework agreement between unions and management to help guide the transition to a merged company with minimal disruption. The framework agreement will allow for an orderly transition and respects the forthcoming collective bargaining process.

The new organization will be operational in January 2015.

Providing clean, reliable and affordable power is part of the government's economic plan for Ontario. The four part plan is building Ontario up by investing in people's talents and skills, building new public infrastructure like roads and transit, creating a dynamic, supportive environment where business thrives and building a secure savings plan so everyone can afford to retire.

Quick Facts

  • The IESO is responsible for maintaining the reliability of the province’s electricity grid; developing and enforcing reliability standards; administering wholesale market rules; and directing market dispatch.
  • The OPA is responsible for medium to long-term system planning, procurement of electricity generation; coordination of province-wide conservation; and managing generation and conservation contracts.
  • The government is delivering on a 2014 Budget commitment to consolidate the two agencies. A joint working committee with representation from the IESO and the OPA has been formed to develop the work plan to transition to the new entity.
  • The new Board of Directors is expected to be comprised of the following persons: James Hinds, Timothy O’Neill, Cynthia Chaplin, Murray Elston, Susanna Han, Ronald Jamieson, Margaret Kelch, Bruce Lourie, William Museler, Deborah Whale and Bruce Campbell.

Background Information

Additional Resources


“With a depth of experience in the electricity sector, we are confident the new CEO and Board of Directors will lead the newly formed agency to create efficiencies and innovations that will respect ratepayers. I look forward to welcoming Mr. Campbell to his new role and look forward to continuing to work with him to move our electricity sector forward.”

Bob Chiarelli

Minister of Energy

Media Contacts



Environment and Energy Government