Ontario Newsroom

New Board Nominees at the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission

Archived Bulletin

New Board Nominees at the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission

Providing Stability for Successful Transformation

A new chair and four new board members have been nominated for appointment to the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission (ONTC). 

The proposed board members have been nominated by Cabinet and their appointment is subject to review by the Standing Committee on Government Agencies.

  • Thomas Laughren (Chair)
  • Steven Carmichael
  • Ewen Cornick
  • Gaéten Malette
  • Ila Watson

Their expertise and experience includes financial management and accounting, organizational restructuring and governance and the transportation sector. These members will provide leadership as ONTC transformation efforts continue.

The province is committed to transforming the ONTC to ensure sustainable employment, continued economic growth and a strong transportation network in northeastern Ontario.

Supporting northern Ontario is part of the government's economic plan for Ontario. The four part plan is building Ontario up by investing in people's talents and skills, building new public infrastructure like roads and transit, creating a dynamic, supportive environment where business thrives, and building a secure savings plan so everyone can afford to retire.

Quick Facts

  • The Ontario Northland Transportation Commission is an operational enterprise agency of the province providing motor coach, Polar Bear Express, rail freight, and refurbishment services to Northern Ontario.
  • Proposed board members, if appointed by Order-in-Council, would serve for up to three years, with possible extension.
  • If approved, full membership of the new board would include: Thomas Laughren (Chair), Steven Carmichael, Ewen Cornick, Gaétan Malette, Ila Watson and Ted Hargreaves (returning member).

Background Information

Additional Resources


“I’d like to thank the current board members for their contributions. I look forward to welcoming the new and returning board members to the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission. Their leadership will help the ONTC as it continues with transformation.”

Michael Gravelle

Minister of Northern Development and Mines

Media Contacts



Government Rural and North