Ontario Newsroom

Family Health Teams

Archived Backgrounder

Family Health Teams

Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care

Ontario is continuing to improve access to family health care and reduce the number of Ontarians who don't have a family physician.   A key part of this strategy is the creation of 50 new Family Health Teams (FHTs) and 25 new Nurse Practitioner-Led Clinics.

The new Family Health Teams will include family physicians, nurse practitioners, registered nurses, social workers and dieticians.

Family Health Teams deliver comprehensive health care services and offer additional programs tailored to the needs of their communities, including seeing patients who do not have a family doctor. They will support increasing chronic disease management and prevention including Ontario's Diabetes Strategy.

19 New Family Health Teams


FHT Name and Community

Erie St. Clair

Petrolia FHT (Petrolia)

Kent County FHT (Chatham)

South West

London FHT (London)*

Central West

Wise Elephant Downtown Brampton FHT (Brampton)


Jane-Finch FHT (Toronto)*

Centre for Family Medicine and Intercultural Health FHT (Markham)**

Central East

City of Kawartha Lakes FHT (Kawartha Lakes)

South East

Lakelands FHT (Northbrook)


Ottawa Valley FHT(Almonte)

Lower Outaouais FHT (Hawkesbury)*

Plantagenet FHT (Plantagenet)*

West Champlain FHT (Pembroke)

Tungasuvvingat Inuit FHT (Vanier)

North East

Chapleau and District FHT(Chapleau)

Cochrane FHT (Cochrane)*

Manitoulin Central FHT (Mindemoya)

NORD-ASKI Regional FHT (Hearst)

North West

Nipigon District FHT (Nipigon)

Manitouwadge FHT(Manitouwadge)

* Shared Care Pilots launched in 2006. These pilot projects offer the same team-based patient care services as a FHT, but are based on a different physician payment model. Funding for the six Ontario Shared Care Pilots is available until June 30, 2010 and five of these SCPs have chosen to apply and have been accepted as Family Health Teams.

**This FHT will incorporate a Family Medicine Teaching Unit (FMTU) and place a priority on teaching future family physicians in order to help expand the supply of Ontario physicians.

The Call for Applications for 19 new Family Health Teams was announced on June 22, 2009 and closed on July 30, 2009, with applications accepted from:

  • Community and physician groups in eight targeted Local Health Integration Networks (LHINs): North West, North East, Erie St. Clair, North Simcoe Muskoka, Central West, Central East, Champlain and South East. These LHINs were selected based on the proportion of residents without a family health care provider, the prevalence of chronic disease and the existing access to family health services.
  • An invitation to apply was extended to the six existing Shared Care Pilots as well as applicants who placed a priority on teaching future family physicians (FMTUs).

Media Contacts



Health and Wellness