Ontario Newsroom

Joint Statement by Ministerial Participants of Pharmacare Roundtable

Archived Statement

Joint Statement by Ministerial Participants of Pharmacare Roundtable

Ministry of Health

Today, The Honourable Dr. Eric Hoskins, Ontario's Minister of Health and Long-Term Care; The Honourable Glen Abernethy, Northwest Territories' Minister of Health and Social Services; The Honourable Sharon Blady, Manitoba's Minister of Health; The Honourable Victor Boudreau, New Brunswick's Minister of Health; The Honourable Dustin Duncan, Saskatchewan's Minister of Health; The Honourable Steve Kent, Newfoundland and Labrador's Deputy Premier and Minister of Health and Community Service; The Honourable Terry Lake, British Columbia's Minister of Health; and, The Honourable Greg Ottenbreit, Saskatchewan's Minister Responsible for Rural and Remote Health issued the following statement on pharmacare: 

"Today we continued the conversation from last fall's Health Ministers' meeting and met with academics and experts from across Canada to discuss the possibility of pan-Canadian pharmacare.

We would like to thank the experts who provided us with their valuable insights on a broad scope of topics related to a potential pan-Canadian pharmacare program.  Areas of exploration included hearing about the costs, benefits and challenges of universal access to drugs, the experiences of various jurisdictions and the impact of a pan-Canadian program.

This is neither the beginning nor the end of this discussion. To better inform ourselves with the evidence, we are determined to seek advice and input from other voices who can offer guidance and advice as we move this conversation forward.

As ministers of health, we will continue these discussions both at tables like this and within our own jurisdictions to work towards our common goal of improving access to health care."

Media Contacts



Government Health and Wellness