Ontario Newsroom

Provincial-Territorial Expert Advisory Group Convened On Physician-Assisted Dying

Archived Backgrounder

Provincial-Territorial Expert Advisory Group Convened On Physician-Assisted Dying

Ministry of Health

The following provinces and territories have joined together to form an expert advisory group to provide advice that will inform the development of policies, practices, and safeguards required when physician-assisted dying is legalized in their jurisdictions. This work is in addition to the federal government's external panel, which is developing options that will inform the federal government's legislative response to the Supreme Court's decision.

  • Alberta
  • British Columbia (observer)
  • Manitoba
  • New Brunswick
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Northwest Territories
  • Nova Scotia
  • Nunavut
  • Ontario
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Saskatchewan
  • Yukon

The provincial-territorial expert advisory group will seek advice from stakeholders and those with expertise in this area, and will consider key policy questions related to how the provinces and territories implement the Court's decision, as their jurisdictions are responsible for delivering health care and regulating health care professions.

Provincial-Territorial Expert Advisory Group

The members of the provincial-territorial expert advisory group on physician-assisted dying include patient, health care, ethics and legal experts from across Canada. 

  • Dr. Jennifer Gibson (Co-Chair) - Director of the University of Toronto Joint Centre for Bioethics
  • Maureen Taylor (Co-Chair) - Physician Assistant in Infectious Diseases and Medical Journalist
  • Dr. Doug Cochrane - Patient Safety and Quality Officer for British Columbia and Chair of the BC Patient Safety and Quality Council 
  • Dr. Jocelyn Downie - Professor in the Faculties of Law and Medicine at Dalhousie University 
  • Ruth Goba - Interim Chief Commissioner  of the Ontario Human Rights Commission
  • Dr. Nuala Kenny - Professor Emeritus of Bioethics at Dalhousie University and Former Ethics and Health Policy Advisor to the Catholic Health Alliance of Canada 
  • Arthur Schafer - Director of the Centre for Professional and Applied Ethics at the University of Manitoba 
  • Dr. Trevor Theman - Registrar of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta
  • Dr. Karima Velji - President of the Canadian Nurses Association and Integrated Vice President, Mental Health Services, for London Health Science Centre and St. Joseph's Health Care London

The expert advisory group is expected to complete its final report before the end of 2015. Federal, provincial and territorial governments have until February 2016 to implement responses in advance of the Supreme Court's decision taking effect.

Media Contacts

  • Shae Greenfield

    Minister Hoskins’ Office


  • Christine Burke

    Minister Meilleur's Office


  • David Jensen

    Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care


  • Brendan Crawley

    Ministry of the Attorney General




Government Health and Wellness