Ontario Newsroom

Minister's Medal Honours Excellence in Health Quality and Safety

Archived Backgrounder

Minister's Medal Honours Excellence in Health Quality and Safety

Ministry of Health

The 2017 Minister's Medal recipients honour excellence in health quality and safety. They are:

Patient, Family, and Caregiver Medal Award Winner: Margo Twohig

Since 2012, Margo has been a patient and family advisor and is currently the Co-Chair of the Patient and Family Advisory Council at North York General Hospital, in the Central Local Health Integration Network (LHIN). Margo has made valuable contributions to numerous projects such as clinical recruiting practices, professional practices, quality recommendations, accreditation, quality improvement research, ethics, education programs and community awareness. 

She has been a leader in encouraging and empowering others to share their lived experience. Margo's volunteer commitment to patient engagement over the course of many years has demonstrated immense dedication and has grown far beyond her initial interest in patient engagement based on her personal experience with cancer.


Team Medal Award Winner: Hospitals Without Walls

This year's Team Medal award winner is Hospital Without Walls,a team working out of Hamilton Health Sciences (HHS) within the Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant Local Health Integration Network (LHIN). HHS works to transform where and how it provides care to vulnerable and under-served populations.

Hospital Without Walls teamed up with system partners in coordinating care and patient action plans. The goal was to improve the overall management of care, and to involve patients and family members in the planning and delivery of all programs and services.

The program collaborated with partners to improve a patient experience that incorporates and addresses the social determinants of health.

Program outcomes demonstrated a positive impact at the individual and system level, substantiated by direct patient feedback and key system performance improvement metrics, including reductions in emergency department visits, readmissions, length of stay, and ambulatory care sensitive conditions.

Individual Champion Medal Award Winner: Regan Anderson

Regan Anderson is the 2017 Individual Champion Medal award winner. Regan is the Chief Executive Officer of Wayside House of Hamilton - within the Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant LHIN - a community-based not-for-profit charitable organization that is committed to residential addiction treatment and supportive housing for males and transitional male youth.

He went beyond his leadership role at Wayside to engage with the addictions sector of healthcare across Ontario, through his participation on numerous boards and committees. Regan was dedicated to improving the system of mental health and addictions. 

He also instructed students at Mohawk College and is currently helping to develop a revised social work curriculum at McMaster University, with the aim of having future social workers better understand the needs of people with mental health and substance misuse challenges.


Honour Roll Members: Individual Category

  • Laura Williams, Director of Patient Engagement at University Health Network, Toronto Central LHIN.
  • Hanaa Elkalza, Patient and Caregiver Engagement Coordinator, Mississauga Halton LHIN.
  • Dr. Rhonda Crocker Ellacott, Executive Vice-President, Patient Services, and Chief Nursing Executive, Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre, North West LHIN.
  • Dr. Shannon Bauman, Primary Care Doctor specializing in sports medicine and founder of Concussion North, North Simcoe Muskoka LHIN.

Honour Roll Members: Patient/Family/Caregiver Category

  • Robbie Stewart, Co-Chair of the Lakeridge Health Patient and Family Experience Advisory Council and involved in many organizations, including with Cancer Care Ontario.Central East LHIN.
  • Gwen Piller, Citizen member to the Quality Committee of the Board at Joseph Brant Hospital, and member of the Joseph Brant Patient Family Advisory Council.Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant LHIN.

Honour Roll Members: Team Category

  • Hip & Knee Integrated Care Collaborative, Central LHIN
  • Muskoka Community Health Hubs, North Simcoe Muskoka LHIN
  • Cross Sector Complex Care Program, Central LHIN
  • Care Coordination Program of Work, Mississauga Halton LHIN
  • Yee Hong Centre for Geriatric Care, Central LHIN
  • Sanguen Health Centre Mobile Van, Waterloo Wellington LHIN
  • Prevention of Error-based Transfers, Central West LHIN
  • Strengthening Communities in Scarborough, Central East LHIN

Media Contacts



Government Health and Wellness