Ontario Newsroom

2010 Ontario Sport Award Recipients

Archived Backgrounder

2010 Ontario Sport Award Recipients

Female Athlete Of The Year

Heather Moyse, Bobsleigh (Toronto, Ontario)
Heather Moyse won Canada's first-ever women's bobsleigh gold medal at the Vancouver 2010 Olympics along with Kaillie Humphries. She competed in three other races in 2010, placing on the podium twice. Heather was also part of Team Canada at the Women's Rugby World Cup in England, where they placed sixth.  

Male Athlete Of The Year

Cody Sorensen, Bobsleigh (Ottawa, Ontario)
Cody Sorensen was the brakeman on the Serge Depres sled that won the 2010 North American Bobsled Championships. He was selected as the alternate for the 2010 Vancouver Olympic Team. Cody joined Lyndon Rush's World Cup sled in September, which won the 2010 Canadian four-man Bobsleigh Championships. His sled is currently ranked 5th in the world.  

Female Athlete With A Disability Of The Year

Summer Mortimer, Swimming (Ancaster, Ontario)
Summer broke swimming world records all year long. At the IPC World Championships in the Netherlands, she won gold and broke world records in the 200 meter individual medley, 50 meter freestyle, 100 meter freestyle, and 100 meter backstroke events. At the Can\Am Para-Swimming Championships in Etobicoke she broke four more world records.

Male Athlete With A Disability Of The Year

Richard Ball, Athletics (Orillia, Ontario)
Rick set a world record at the Canadian Marathon in Ottawa, and followed that with a Canadian record in the 10,000 meter race at the Canadian Track & Field Championships. His great year allowed him to qualify for Team Canada at the 2011 IPC World Athletics Championships.  

Team Of The Year

Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir, Figure Skating (Ilderton, Ontario)
Tessa and Scott's year began by winning their third consecutive Canadian championship in senior ice dance. They followed that with an Olympic gold medal, becoming the first North American Ice Dance team to win gold and the first team to win in their Olympic debut. They also became the youngest ever International Skating Union World Figure Skating Dance Champions.

Male Coach Of The Year

Anthony McCleary, Athletics (Pickering, Ontario)
Anthony coaches a number of athletes in several track events.  He has worked with Priscilla Lopes-Schliep, the number one ranked female sprint hurdler in the world, since she was 16 years old. He also coaches Adam Kunkel, who holds the Canadian record in the 400m hurdles, and Toyin Olupona, the 2010 Canadian 100 meter champion.

Female Coach Of The Year

Cathy Dalton, Synchronized Skating (Whitby, Ontario)
Cathy has been the coach of Black Ice since it was founded in 1992. In 2010, Cathy's team placed first at the Spring Cup International in both the short and long programs. They also placed second at both the Winterfest Invitational and Synchronized Nationals, while placing fifth in the World Synchronized Skating Championships.  

The Rolf Lund Jule Nisse Award: Recognizes volunteers who have made a "playground to podium" commitment to sport, by serving as a coach, official, a member of a mission team, or a board member.

Ann Shaw, Figure Skating (Toronto, Ontario)
Ann Shaw is a former Canadian ice dancer who has been involved in figure skating for more than sixty years. She represented Canada as a member of the world team in 1959 and 1960, and became an International Skating Union judge and referee. Ann has also been a member of the Skate Canada Board of Directors since 1988, serving as Vice President from 1990 to 1997.  Ann continues to help young skaters develop to their full potential. She has always managed to balance a strong influence on the international stage with maintaining a strong commitment to the grassroots development of the sport.

Syl Apps Volunteer Achievement Award: Recognizes Ontario volunteers who contribute to sport development in the province.

Joanne Abbott, Sailing (Sarnia, Ontario)
Don Benoit, Karate (Sudbury, Ontario)
Frank Boulanger, Badminton (Timmins, Ontario)
Gary Crossley, Athletics (St. Jacobs, Ontario)
Greg Daily, Athletics (Toronto, Ontario)
Rosemary Davidson, 5 Pin Bowling (Stratford, Ontario)
Ray Demiray, Tennis (Barrie, Ontario)
Cheryl Donoghue, Gymnastics (Georgetown, Ontario)
Brenda Hall, ParaSport Ontario (Mississauga, Ontario)
Sylvia Jaksetic, Volleyball (Scarborough, Ontario)
Shirley Lenarduzzi, Lawn Bowling (Uxbridge, Ontario)
Neil Lewis, Special Olympics Basketball, Softball, Soccer (Brampton, Ontario)
Eric Martin, Swimming (Etobicoke, Ontario)
Susanne Morgan, Figure Skating (Barrie, Ontario)
Terry O'Rourke, School Sport (Exeter, Ontario)
Leslie Payne, Soccer (Cambridge, Ontario)
William Perkins, Wrestling (London, Ontario)
Rick Prior, Baseball (Windsor, Ontario)
Janice Pula, Curling (Lively, Ontario)
Nancy Reid, Golf (Unionville, Ontario)
Gordon Robertson, Squash (Orangeville, Ontario)
Mike Simard, Sledge Hockey (Windsor, Ontario)
Chris Smalling, Basketball (Ajax, Ontario)
Murray Speers, Tomken Road Middle School (Mississauga, Ontario)
Duncan Vignale, Judo (Toronto, Ontario)
Bob Woods, Cycling (Almonte, Ontario)
Gary Yaghdjian, Equestrian (Claremont, Ontario)
Heather Yeck, Softball (Bright, Ontario)

The Corporate Citation Award: Recognizes corporations that are leaders in supporting sport through continued involvement.

AMJ Campbell Van Lines (ParaSport Ontario)
Armour Valve (Squash Ontario)
Best Western International (Skate Ontario)
Canadian Tire (Ontario Cycling Association)
Humber College Athletics (Badminton Ontario)
HWY H2O- St. Lawrence Seaway Management Corporation (Ontario Sailing)
Investors Group Financial Services (Golf Association of Ontario)
Mazda Canada Inc. (KidSport Ontario)
Nike Canada Limited (Ontario Basketball)
Nike Canada Ltd. (Ontario Federation of School Athletic Associations)
Omega Alpha Pharmaceuticals (Ontario Equestrian Federation)
Pizza Pizza (Ontario University Athletics)
Rogers TV (Ontario Curling Council)
Sherwood Centre (Ontario 5 Pin Bowlers' Association)
Spieth Anderson International (Gymnastics Ontario)
Tippet-Richardson Ltd. (Boxing Ontario)

The Ontario Games Host Recognition Award:
Recognizes the city hosts of an Ontario Games in the past year.

The City of Kingston - 2010 Ontario ParaSport Winter Games
Muskoka Region - 2010 Ontario Winter Games
The City of Greater Sudbury - 2010 Ontario Summer Games
The City of Oshawa - 2010 Ontario Senior Games Actifest
Haliburton County - 2011 Ontario Senior Games Winterfest

Media Contacts