Ontario Newsroom

New Chair of the Niagara Parks Commission

Archived Bulletin

New Chair of the Niagara Parks Commission

McGuinty Government Appoints Local Business Leader

Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport

Ontario has appointed Janice Thomson as Chair of the Niagara Parks Commission's Board of Directors, effective November 16.

Ms. Thomson was first appointed to the Board on June 15, 2010, and has been serving as interim Chair since June 30, 2011.

Ms. Thomson is the Executive Director of the Niagara-on-the-Lake Chamber of Commerce & Visitor and Convention Bureau. Prior to this, she was a sales and marketing consultant and was the owner and operator of a restaurant in Niagara-on-the-Lake. She is a Commissioner (and former Chair) on the Niagara Falls Bridge Commission, Treasurer of the Niagara-on-the-Lake Physician Recruitment Committee, Director and Secretary of the Niagara Foundation, and a past member of the Committee of Adjustment for the Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake.

In addition, the Province is reappointing Lord Mayor David Eke from the Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake, Mayor Douglas G. Martin from the Town of Fort Erie, Councillor Barbara Greenwood from the Regional Municipality of Niagara, Councillor Vince Kerrio from the City of Niagara Falls, Virginia M. West, William F. Forward, Patricia Li, Ronald James McKerlie, and Lori Sterling as commissioners of the board.

Quick Facts

  • The Niagara Parks Commission helps attract millions of visitors annually to Niagara Falls, Ontario's most popular tourist destination.
  • Established in 1885, the Niagara Parks Commission is an operational enterprise agency that raises its own revenue and does not receive ongoing operational funding from the Province.

Additional Resources


“Ms. Thomson has brought a high level of experience and expertise in her role as interim Chair to the Niagara Parks Commission and I am pleased that the Commission will continue to benefit from her strong leadership. I look forward to working with Ms. Thomson to further the Commission's contributions to the economic growth and success of the Niagara region and Ontario.”

Michael Chan

Minister of Tourism and Culture

Media Contacts