Ontario Newsroom

Connecting Links Applications Open November 19

Archived Backgrounder

Connecting Links Applications Open November 19

Ministry of Transportation

Connecting links are municipal roads that connect communities to provincial highways and border crossings.

There are 352 kilometres of connecting links, including 70 bridges, in 77 Ontario municipalities. Connecting links are designated under the Public Transportation and Highway Improvement Act.

Under the act, a highway that has been designated as a connecting link remains a highway under the jurisdiction and control of the municipality.

Through the new Connecting Links program, the province will help cover the cost of bridge replacements, pavement rehabilitation, storm sewer construction and intersection improvements.

Projects will be funded up to 90 per cent, to a maximum of $3 million of eligible project costs.

The following 77 municipalities have designated connecting links, and can apply for provincial funding:

Town of Aylmer

City of Guelph

City of Owen Sound

Town of Bancroft

County of Haldimand

City of Pembroke

City of Barrie

Town of Halton Hills

Prince Edward County

City of Belleville

Township of Havelock-Belmont-Methuen

Municipality of Powassan

Township of Black River - Matheson

Town of Hawkesbury

Town of Rainy River

Town of Blind River

Town of Hearst

Town of Renfrew

The Blue Mountains

Township of Hornepayne

Town of Saugeen Shores

Township of Bonnechere Valley

Municipality of Huron East

City of Sault Ste. Marie

City of Brantford

Town of Innisfil

Town of Shelburne

Village of Burk's Falls

Town of Kapuskasing

Town of Smooth Rock Falls

Chatsworth Township

City of Kawartha Lakes

Municipality of South Bruce

Municipality of Central Huron

Town of Kirkland Lake

Town of South Bruce Peninsula

Municipality of Centre Hastings

Municipality of Lambton Shores

Municipality of South Huron

Township of Centre Wellington

Township of Lucan Biddulph

City of Stratford

Township of Champlain

Loyalist Township

Separated Town of Smiths Falls

Municipality of Chatham-Kent

Township of Madawaska Valley

Town of Thessalon

Township of Clearview

Municipality of Marmora and Lake

Town of Tillsonburg

Town of Collingwood

Town of Mattawa

City of Timmins

City of Cornwall

Municipality of Meaford

Municipality of Tweed

City of Dryden

Town of Minto

Municipality of Wawa

Municipality of Dysart et al

Town of New Tecumseth

Township of Wellington North

City of Elliot Lake

Niagara Region

Municipality of West Grey

Town of Espanola

Norfolk County

Municipality of West Nipissing

Town of Fort Frances

Town of Northeastern Manitoulin & the Islands

Municipality of West Perth

Municipality of Grey Highlands

City of North Bay

City of Windsor

Town of Goderich

Municipality of North Perth


Media Contacts



Driving and Roads Government Jobs and Employment Travel and Recreation