Ontario Newsroom

French Language Services Act Passes Final Vote

Archived News Release

French Language Services Act Passes Final Vote

Government Passes its 12th Bill in 2013

Ministry of Francophone Affairs

The Ontario government is making the French Language Services (FLS) Commissioner an independent officer of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario through changes to the French Language Services Act, which passed third reading today. 

The new legislation -- the 12th government bill to pass in 2013 -- will:

  • Change the FLS Commissioner's reporting relationship from the Minister of Francophone Affairs to the Legislative Assembly of Ontario.
  • Set a five-year term of office for the commissioner with opportunity for reappointment.
  • Allow the current commissioner to serve until reconfirmed in the position or a new commissioner is appointed. 

The Office of the FLS Commissioner plays an important role in supporting Ontario's francophone community. It monitors compliance with the French Language Services Act and recommends ways to improve the delivery of government services in French.   

By strengthening French language services in Ontario we are working together as One Ontario to build a successful, compassionate and united province where everyone has the opportunity to connect, contribute and enjoy a high quality of life.

Quick Facts

  • The French Language Services Act was amended in 2007 to establish the Office of the French Language Services Commissioner as an agency of the government.
  • Ontario’s French Language Services Commissioner is François Boileau, who was appointed on Aug. 1, 2007.

Additional Resources


“The French Language Services Commissioner has helped the government improve the quality of public service delivered in French in our province. His advice has been beneficial. By making the commissioner an officer of the legislature, every member of the provincial legislature will assume this important responsibility on behalf of Ontario francophones and francophiles.”

Madeleine Meilleur

Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs

Media Contacts