Ontario Newsroom

Local Agri-Food Innovators Celebrated

Archived Bulletin

Local Agri-Food Innovators Celebrated

McGuinty Government Rewards Eight Recipients for their Innovations

Innovative ideas grown by Ontario farmers were celebrated today at a ceremony in Listowel honouring local winners of the province's regional awards for innovation excellence.

These fresh ideas are contributing to the local economy, boosting the agri-food industry and giving consumers more choice.

The Premier's Agri-Food Innovation Excellence awards are part of a $2.5-million, five-year program (now in its third year) established to recognize innovators who contribute to the success of Ontario's agri-food sector.  

Local events across the province are recognizing 55 regional award winners, who are receiving $5,000 each for their innovations.  Area winners presented with their awards today are:


Halton Region


Huron County


Perth County


Waterloo Region


Wellington County

Enviro Mushroom Inc. (Milton)

Jim Shea (Dublin)

Bert Fisher Farms Limited (Listowel)

Hilton Soy Foods (Staffa)

Oakridge Acres Country Meat Store (Ayr)

Best Baa Farm


Lawrence Brubacher (Harriston)

Ontario Farm Animal Council (Guelph)

Winners of the $100,000 Premier's Award and the $50,000 Minister's Award were presented in April at the Premier's Summit on Agri-Food.

Quick Facts

  • In its first three years, the Premier's Award for Agri-Food Innovation Excellence has attracted more than 550 applications highlighting on-farm innovations.
  • Ontario's agri-food sector is one of the province's leading industries, contributing more than $33 billion to the economy every year.

Background Information

Additional Resources


“These innovations help to strengthen our local agri-food sector, which is such an important contributor to Ontario's economy. These awards show that our province celebrates the achievements of our rural innovators.”

John Wilkinson

MPP Perth-Wellington

Media Contacts



Business and Economy Rural and North