Ontario Newsroom

McGuinty Government Takes Office; Ready To Get To Work For All Ontarians

Archived News Release

McGuinty Government Takes Office; Ready To Get To Work For All Ontarians

Office of the Premier

QUEEN'S PARK -- Dalton McGuinty was sworn in today as the 24th Premier of Ontario, marking a new era of positive change for all Ontarians.

Also sworn in was a 22-member Cabinet; a total of 29 Parliamentary Assistants were designated; six Caucus members were appointed to chair six of eight Cabinet Committees; and, for the first time in Ontario history, every Government Caucus member was assigned to a Cabinet Committee.

"The people have told us they want real, positive change. Our 72-member caucus is a new, energetic, hard working team that will deliver that change," said Premier McGuinty.

"We believe in the people of Ontario. We believe in government. We are building a government people can believe in."

In addition to taking historic steps to engage all the members of his Caucus in working together to build a better Ontario, Premier McGuinty has announced the creation of two new ministries, and a new secretariat:

  • Ministry of Children's Services: To better serve the needs of Ontario's children, this new ministry will be responsible for carrying out the government's Best Start Plan and early childhood education commitments; and

  • Ministry of Public Infrastructure Renewal: Replacing Ontario's aging and failing infrastructure is one of the most important steps in the government's agenda for positive change. This new ministry will manage infrastructure planning to achieve maximum leverage for taxpayer dollars in the key areas of education, health, transportation, housing and the environment; and

  • Minister for Democratic Renewal: The new Minister will lead a secretariat, a first of its kind in Ontario, to ensure meaningful renewal by consulting with the people of Ontario, and engaging youth and the broader public in the electoral process.

"Our government will work for all Ontarians and with all Ontarians," McGuinty said in a speech following the swearing-in, which took place in the Legislative Chamber.