Ontario Newsroom

Jay Hope

Archived Backgrounder

Jay Hope

Commissioner Of Emergency Management

Office of the Premier

Jay Hope, Ontario's new Commissioner of Emergency Management, is a distinguished police veteran with a career in public service and community safety that spans almost 30 years.

Hope was appointed as the OPP's Deputy Commissioner, Strategic Services, in November 2004. He was responsible for developing the OPP's strategic vision, including Aboriginal and First Nations policing, as well as media and corporate relations, policy, municipal policing contracts and training.

From March to November 2004, he held the rank of Chief Superintendent and Regional Commander, Eastern Region. Prior to that posting, he was manager of the OPP's Traffic Review Project, which set the stage for sweeping changes in the force's traffic management and enforcement strategy. Hope also served as OPP's Director of Human Resources, and was recognized with a Human Rights Medal for his work in the department.

Hope joined the OPP as a provincial constable at its Emo detachment in northern Ontario in 1979. As he moved to progressively more senior ranks, he served in detachments in Toronto, Whitby, Aurora and Queen's Park, as well as with headquarters units in Orillia. He was a policy analyst for the Task Force on Race Relations and Policing from July 1992 to January 1993, after serving as senior investigator for the Ontario Human Rights Commission from November 1991 to July 1992.

He received the Order of Merit of the Police Forces from Governor General Michaëlle Jean in May 2006. The award honoured Hope "for outstanding innovative leadership in his profession and in the community, as well as for his trail-blazing work and commitment to improve public safety, to forge ties between police and communities, and to enrich the lives of others."

Hope is the highest-ranking black police officer in Canada. He has received many awards, including the Harry Jerome Award (2003), the Queen's Golden Jubilee Medal (2003), the International Association of Chiefs of Police Traffic Safety Award (2001) and the African Canadian Achievement Award (2001).



Law and Safety