Ontario Newsroom

Ontario Age-Friendly Community Recognition Award Recipients

Archived Backgrounder

Ontario Age-Friendly Community Recognition Award Recipients

Ministry for Seniors and Accessibility

The Ontario Age-Friendly Community Recognition Program celebrates small, urban, and rural communities that are creating age-friendly policies, programs and services. It is aimed at recognizing these achievements, highlighting promising practices, and encouraging knowledge exchange.

Awards are designated into one of two categories:

Category 1 Applications: Community Action Plan - communities that have established a formal Age-Friendly Community Action Plan.

Category 2 Applications: Implementation and Evaluation - communities that have implemented an Age-Friendly Community Action Plan or who have demonstrated a commitment to measure outcomes, public reports and engage in continuous improvements.

Category 1 - Community Action Plan

City of Barrie

City of Burlington

City of Cambridge

Municipality of Chatham-Kent

City of Cornwall

Regional Municipality of Durham

County of Elgin

Town of Fort Frances

County of Haliburton

City of Kitchener

City of North Bay

Town of Orangeville

Peterborough County

City of Peterborough

Curve Lake First Nation, Peterborough

Municipality of Port Hope

County of Simcoe

City of St. Catharines

Municipality of St. Charles

City of St. Thomas

City of Greater Sudbury

Tay Valley Township

City of Thorold

City of Timmins

City of Toronto

City of Waterloo

Town of Wasaga Beach

Municipality of Wawa

City of Welland

Town of Whitby

Category 2 - Implementation and Evaluation

Town of Arnprior

City of Brantford

City of Guelph

City of Hamilton

City of London

Town of Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands

City of Ottawa

City of Temiskaming Shores

City of Thunder Bay

City of Windsor

Media Contacts



Government Home and Community Seniors